Panorama des Stadtplatzes in Brüssel

Belgium

Trilingual, multicultural...

...and full of wonderful, historic buildings.

Connection starts in January 2020

From January 2020, the Nightjet will take you on Sundays and Wednesdays from Vienna (08:38 p.m.) and Innsbruck (08:44 p.m.) to the capital of the European Union in comfort and environmentally friendly style. After Cologne, the train stops in Aachen, Liège and Brussels. The scheduled arrival time in Brussels-Nord is 10:45 a.m. and in Brussels-Midi 10:55 a.m.. The return journey departs on Mondays and Thursdays from Brussels-Midi at 06:04 p.m. and from Brussels-Nord at 06:16 p.m. with arrival in Innsbruck at 09:14 a.m. and in Vienna at 08:27 a.m.. Tickets for this connection are expected to be on sale from 4 December 2019.

Pommes frites were invented in Belgium, people here discuss how brown they should be - and do so in Brussels, the capital of the European Union.
With an area of only 32.61 square kilometres, Brussels is not exactly a mega-city, but it is packed with variety on a very compact scale. Clearly in first place for people with an interest in politics is the European Quarter with its trendy shops, numerous parks and wonderful museums. Highlights include the headquarters of the European Union and Parliamentarium, the House of European History, and the chamber of the European parliament. The 100,000 or so people from all over the world also bring the quarter to life outside of office hours. Their meeting place: "Maison Antoine", the most famous snack bar in the city.

After all, it is not only the little grey cells that want stimulating: your luggage should also definitely include trousers with an elasticated waistline, because Brussels specialities are highly calorific and irresistible: waffles, pommes frites - topped with mussels or mayonnaise, the finest pralines and, of course, beer: Belgium is the world’s leading brewer, the hop and barley brew is even on the list of UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage. Fully refreshed in this way, you’ll experience sights such as the guildhalls on the Grand Place, the Atomium, the cute Manneken Pis and the Broodhous much more intensely.

And away from the well-trodden paths? As Europe’s capital, Brussels is a melting pot of different cultures - which can be experienced up close in trendy districts such as Matonge ("Little Africa"), Kolenmarkt, Les Marolles and Sablon - where the finest chocolate can also be purchased for a fair price. Heading home on the Nightjet, you can then digest all the impressions - and delicacies - in peace and quiet...

Panorama des Stadtplatzes in Brüssel

Belgien

Dreisprachig, multikulturell...

...und voller wunderschöner, historischer Bauwerke.

Fahrten ab Jänner 2020

Ab Jänner 2020 bringt Sie der Nightjet sonntags und mittwochs ab Wien (20:38) und Innsbruck (20:44) bequem und umweltfreundlich in die Hauptstadt der Europäischen Union. Ab Köln hält der Zug in Aachen, Liège und Brüssel. Die planmäßige Ankunftszeit in Brüssel-Nord ist 10:45 und in Brüssel-Midi 10:55. Retour geht es montags und donnerstags ab Brüssel-Midi um 18:04 und ab Brüssel-Nord um 18:16 mit Halten in Innsbruck um 09:14 und in Wien um 08:27. Tickets für diese Verbindung sind voraussichtlich ab 4. Dezember 2019 buchbar.

In Belgien wurden die Pommes Frittes erfunden, hier diskutiert man auch über den Grad ihrer Bräunung - und zwar in der EU-Hauptstadt Brüssel.
Mit nur 32,61 Quadratkilometern ist Brüssel nicht gerade eine Mega-City, trotzdem findet man hier sehr kompakt jede Menge Abwechslung. Für politisch Interessierte steht das Europaviertel mit seinen trendigen Geschäften, vielen Grünflächen und herrlichen Museen klar an erster Stelle. Das Highlight ist der Sitz der Europäischen Union samt Parlamentarium, dem Haus für europäische Geschichte oder dem Plenarsaal des europäischen Parlaments. Die rund 100 000 Menschen aus aller Herren Länder beleben das Viertel auch abseits der Arbeitszeiten. Ihr Treffpunkt: Das "Maison Antoine", die berühmteste Snackbar der Stadt.

Denn nicht nur die kleinen grauen Zellen wollen angeregt werden: Ins Gepäck sollten unbedingt auch Hosen mit Gummizug, denn die Brüsseler Spezialitäten sind hochkalorisch und unwiderstehlich: Waffeln, Fritten - gerne auch mit Muscheln oder Mayo verzehrt, feinste Pralinen und natürlich Bier: Belgien ist der weltweit führende Brauer, das Hopfen- und Gerstengebräu sogar Teil des UNESCO-Weltkulturerbes. Derart gestärkt erlebt man Sehenswürdigkeiten wie die Zunfthäuser am Grand Place, das Atomium, den putzigen Manneken Pis und das Broodhous gleich viel intensiver.

Und abseits der bewanderten Pfade? Als Hauptstadt Europas ist Brüssel ein Schmelztiegel unterschiedlichster Kulturen - und die erlebt man hautnah in hippen Szenevierteln wie Matonge ("Little Africa"), Kolenmarkt, Les Marolles und Sablon - hier bekommt man auch die feinste Schoko zum fairen Preis. Im Nightjet Richtung Heimat kann man dann in Ruhe all die Eindrücke - und Köstlichkeiten - verdauen...