Basel Panorama

Basel

A city of art

One of the most important art fairs in the world, almost 40 museums and countless galleries. The small town at the border triangle deserves its reputation as the art metropolis of Switzerland. If you're tired of the rough sea air, go to bed on a Nightjet train in Hamburg or Berlin and arrive well rested in the middle of idyllic Basel the next morning.

No connections found. Please try another departure country.

* Minimum price for an ÖBB Sparschiene ticket per person and direction, in a second class seating carriage (for Vienna - Kosice and Zurich - Prague in a 3-bed sleeper coach), incl. seat reservation, offer only valid for a certain train and subject to ticket allotment, can be booked max. 6 months (180 days) before departure. For couchette or sleeper car tickets as well as car and motorcycle transport (if available), a surcharge applies. No discounts. Tickets cannot be exchanged, cancelled or refunded. The ÖBB Personenverkehr AG's terms and conditions apply. Tickets and information are available at nightjet.com, from ÖBB sales partners, at any ÖBB ticket counter and from the ÖBB customer service at 0043 5 1717.

Attractions

Various sightseeing tours start directly from the train station and well-signposted lead you through the city and to its most important sights. Except if your goal has been to take in the various art offerings in the first place. For its particularly art lovers come to Art Basel in the early summer and throughout the year in the numerous galleries and countless art museums such as the Kunsthalle, the Kunstmuseum, the Fondation Beyeler or the Museum Jean Tinguely, the works of world-famous artists can be admired.

A walk through Basel's city centre is always worth your while, of course: While your gaze will fall on buildings designed by renowned contemporary architects and buildings from the 15th century in the historic old town, you fortunately don't have to pay any attention to the traffic. The city centre has been car-free for a few years now, only the characteristic green trams are allowed to run here. In addition, you should not forget to marvel at the Basel Minster made of red sandstone and coloured bricks.

At the market square you should visit the imposing town hall and stock up on fruit and vegetables for a picnic on the banks of the Rhine: In the summer months, people party and enjoy a drink or two on the banks of the Rhine, or let themselves drift down the river a bit – yes, you can absolutely bathe in the Rhine. The best way to do this is to get yourself a Wickelfisch (literally “Wrapped Fish”) which is what they call the waterproof bags in which you take along your clothes when swimming in the Rhine. In the process, you can also pass under another one of the city’s monuments: the Mittlere Brücke was opened in 1226 and is one of the oldest Rhine bridges between Lake Constance and the North Sea.

Basel Helvetia statue

Helvetia monument on the banks of the Rhine

Basel Panorama

Basel

Wo die Kunst zu Hause ist

Eine der wichtigsten Kunstmessen weltweit, fast 40 Museen und unzählige Galerien. Die kleine Stadt am Dreiländereck verdient ihren Ruf, die Kunstmetropole der Schweiz zu sein. Wer genug von der rauen Seeluft hat, legt sich abends in Hamburg oder Berlin in den Nightjet und kommt am nächsten Morgen gut erholt mitten im idyllischen Basel an.

Keine Verbindungen gefunden. Bitte versuchen Sie ein anders Abfahrtsland.

* Ab-Preis für ein ÖBB-Sparschiene-Ticket pro Person und Richtung im Sitzwagen 2. Klasse inkl. Sitzplatzreservierung (bei Wien-Kosice bzw. Zürich - Prag im 3er Schlafwagen), kontingentiertes und zuggebundenes Angebot, max. 6 Monate (180 Tage) vor Fahrtantritt buchbar. Liege- bzw. Bettplatz sowie Auto- und Motorradtransport (sofern verfügbar) sind aufpreispflichtig. Keine Ermäßigungen. Umtausch, Stornierung und Erstattung ausgeschlossen. Es gelten die Tarifbestimmungen der ÖBB-Personenverkehr AG. Tickets und Informationen erhältlich auf nightjet.com, bei ÖBB Vertriebspartnern, jedem ÖBB Ticketschalter oder beim ÖBB Kundenservice 0043 5 1717.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Direkt vom Bahnhof starten verschiedene Sightseeing-Rundgänge, die mit Beschilderungen durch die Stadt und zu den wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten führen. Außer Ihr Ziel lautet sowieso: Kunst. Denn vor allem Kunstliebhaber kommen im Frühsommer zur Art Basel und das ganze Jahr über sind in den vielen Galerien und unzähligen Kunstmuseen wie der Kunsthalle, dem Kunstmuseum, der Fondation Beyeler oder dem Museum Jean Tinguely die Arbeiten weltbekannter KünstlerInnen zu bewundern.

Ein Spaziergang durch die Basler Innenstadt lohnt sich aber natürlich auch: Während der Blick in der historischen Altstadt zwischen Gebäuden renommierter zeitgenössischer Architekten und solchen aus dem 15. Jahrhundert hin und her springt, muss man zum Glück nicht mehr auf den Verkehr achten. Seit ein paar Jahren ist die Innenstadt autofrei, hier fahren nur die charakteristischen grünen Trams vorbei. Außerdem sollte man noch das Basler Münster aus rotem Sandstein und bunten Ziegeln bewundern.

Am Marktplatz stattet man dem imposanten Rathaus einen Besuch ab und deckt sich mit Obst und Gemüse für ein Picknick am Rheinufer ein: In den Sommermonaten wird am Rheinufer gefeiert und gejausnet, oder man lässt sich gemächlich etwas den Fluss hinabtreiben - ja, im Rhein wird auch gebadet. Dazu organisiert man sich am besten vorher noch einen „Wickelfisch“ - so wird der wasserdichte Sack genannt, in dem man beim Rheinschwimmen die Kleidung transportiert. Dabei kann man übrigens auch noch ein wichtiges Monument der Stadt passieren: die Mittlere Brücke wurde 1226 eröffnet und ist einer der ältesten Rheinübergänge zwischen dem Bodensee und der Nordsee.

Basel Helvetia Statue

Die Helvetia-Statue am Ufer des Rheins