Innsbruck Altstadt mit Blick auf das Goldene Dachl

Innsbruck

Alpenglow and a Golden Roof

From high alpine via ferrata to baroque ceiling paintings. In Innsbruck you can get everything under a single (Tyrolean) roof. Those who find the land too flat in the far north of Germany can simply hop onto a Nightjet train in Hamburg or Düsseldorf and the next morning wake up to views of an Alpine panorama in the middle of Innsbruck.

No connections found. Please try another departure country.

* Minimum price for an ÖBB Sparschiene ticket per person and direction, in a second class seating carriage (for Vienna - Kosice and Zurich - Prague in a 3-bed sleeper coach), incl. seat reservation, offer only valid for a certain train and subject to ticket allotment, can be booked max. 6 months (180 days) before departure. For couchette or sleeper car tickets as well as car and motorcycle transport (if available), a surcharge applies. No discounts. Tickets cannot be exchanged, cancelled or refunded. The ÖBB Personenverkehr AG's terms and conditions apply. Tickets and information are available at nightjet.com, from ÖBB sales partners, at any ÖBB ticket counter and from the ÖBB customer service at 0043 5 1717.

Attractions

Can you hear the mountains calling you? Or the old town? The city with the bridge crossing the River Inn – hence its name - is nestled between two mountain ranges to the north and south. This makes it the perfect destination for all sports enthusiasts. From skiing, snowboarding, cross-country skiing, mountain biking, climbing and hiking - depending on the season, Innsbruck simply offers everything. The special thing about it is that, after feeling the adrenaline rushing through your veins, you get a good dose of art and culture during the periods of rest.

And so, the morning sun provides the best time to be dazzled by the approx. 3,000 fire-gilded copper shingles on the famous Golden Roof in the old town. The oriel of the former residence of the Tyrolean sovereigns served as a royal vantage point. Emperor Maximilian I, for instance, used to watch knights’ tournaments from here. Only a few steps away are the historical town hall with its town tower, Hofburg palace, built according to plans by Empress Maria Theresa, and the Hofkirche. The tomb of the omnipresent Emperor Maximilian is surrounded by 28 bronze mourners, the famous Schwarzen Mander (literally “Black Men”). The idea for this magnificent monument originates from the emperor himself and women can also be found among the black men.

After a visit to Umbras Castle, you then have the chance to admire a bit of modern architecture outside the city centre, where it contrasts the rugged peaks of the Northern Chain. The striking ski jumping hill of Bergisel and the stations of the Hungerburgbahn were both planned by star architect Zaha Hadid.

A last look at the mountains from your Nightjet compartment is worthwhile - you will miss them.

Detailed information about the Tyrolean regions for your summer or winter holidays you´ll find at www.tyrol.com.

Innsbruck Old town building

View of the old town of Innsbruck

Innsbruck Altstadt mit Blick auf das Goldene Dachl

Innsbruck

Alpenglühen und ein goldenes Dach

Vom hochalpinen Klettersteig zur barocken Deckenmalerei. In Innsbruck bekommt man alles unter den (Tiroler)Hut. Wem es im hohen Norden Deutschlands zu flach ist, der setzt sich einfach in z.B. Hamburg oder Düsseldorf in den Nightjet und wacht am nächsten Morgen mit Blick aufs Alpenpanorama mitten in Innsbruck auf.

Keine Verbindungen gefunden. Bitte versuchen Sie ein anders Abfahrtsland.

* Ab-Preis für ein ÖBB-Sparschiene-Ticket pro Person und Richtung im Sitzwagen 2. Klasse inkl. Sitzplatzreservierung (bei Wien-Kosice bzw. Zürich - Prag im 3er Schlafwagen), kontingentiertes und zuggebundenes Angebot, max. 6 Monate (180 Tage) vor Fahrtantritt buchbar. Liege- bzw. Bettplatz sowie Auto- und Motorradtransport (sofern verfügbar) sind aufpreispflichtig. Keine Ermäßigungen. Umtausch, Stornierung und Erstattung ausgeschlossen. Es gelten die Tarifbestimmungen der ÖBB-Personenverkehr AG. Tickets und Informationen erhältlich auf nightjet.com, bei ÖBB Vertriebspartnern, jedem ÖBB Ticketschalter oder beim ÖBB Kundenservice 0043 5 1717.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Denn der Berg ruft - die Altstadt aber auch. Die Stadt mit der Brücke über den Inn, daher ihr Name, liegt eingebettet zwischen zwei Gebirgsketten im Norden und Süden. Deswegen ist sie auch genau das richtige Ausflugsziel für alle Sportbegeisterten. Von Skifahren, über Snowboarden, Langlaufen, Mountainbiken, Klettern und Wandern ist je nach Jahreszeit alles möglich. Das Besondere daran ist, dass man neben dem Adrenalin in den Ruhephasen auch eine ordentliche Dosis Kunst und Kultur abbekommt.

Und so lässt man sich in der Morgensonne am besten erst einmal von den rund 3.000 feuervergoldeten Kupferschindeln am berühmten Goldenen Dachl in der Altstadt blenden. Der Erker der ehemaligen Residenz der Tiroler Landesfürsten diente früher als königliche Aussichtsloge, zum Beispiel hat Kaiser Maximilian I. von hier aus Rittertourniere verfolgt. Nur ein paar Schritte weiter liegen das historische Rathaus mit dem Stadtturm, die Hofburg, die nach Plänen von Kaiserin Maria Theresia erbaut wurde, und die Hofkirche. Das Grabmal des allgegenwärtigen Kaisers Maximilian ist umringt von 28 bronzenen Trauergästen, den berühmten Schwarzen Mander. Die Idee zu dem prunkvollen Monument stammt übrigens vom Kaiser selbst und unter den schwarzen Männern sind auch Frauen zu finden.

Nach einem Besuch im Schloss Ambras kann man dann ein bisschen außerhalb des Stadtzentrums spannende moderne Architektur bewundern, die es mit den schroffen Gipfeln der Nordkette aufnimmt. Die markante Schisprungschanze vom Bergisel und die Stationen der Hungerburgbahn wurden beide von Stararchitektin Zaha Hadid geplant.

Ein letzter Blick auf die Berge aus dem Nightjet-Abteil lohnt sich - Sie werden sie vermissen.

Detaillierte Informationen zu den Tiroler Regionen für Ihren Sommer- oder Winterurlaub finden Sie auf www.tirol.at.

Innsbruck Altstadt-Gebäude

Blick auf die Innsbrucker Altstadt