Verona Arena

Verona

In Shakespeare's footsteps in Verona

Paris can pack up, now it's time for Verona. Following Romeo & Juliet's tracks in the warm light of the south, Verona offers romantic squares, enchanting courtyards and medieval sights. Don't stress yourself out at the airport, Paris is not the only place for romance. A relaxed night on the Nightjet takes you from Vienna, Salzburg or Munich directly to Verona.

Tip

With ÖBB, you will receive a 20% discount on tickets for CitySightseeing in many cities in Italy.
Further information is available at oebb.at/citysightseeing.

No connections found. Please try another departure country.

* Minimum price for an ÖBB Sparschiene ticket per person and direction, in a second class seating carriage, incl. seat reservation, offer only valid for a certain train and subject to ticket allotment, can be booked max. 6 months (180 days) before departure. For couchette or sleeper car tickets as well as car and motorcycle transport (if available), a surcharge applies. No discounts. Tickets cannot be exchanged, cancelled or refunded. The ÖBB Personenverkehr AG's terms and conditions apply. Tickets and information are available at nightjet.com, from ÖBB sales partners, at any ÖBB ticket counter and from the ÖBB customer service at 0043 5 1717.

Attractions

It is the perfect destination for all those newly in love or those who still want to get there. Ever since Shakespeare and maybe even before his time, the northern Italian city has been home to great emotions. Whether at Casa di Giulietta, where couples like to write their names on the wall under the watchful eyes of a bronze statue of Juliet in the courtyard. Or at Arena di Verona with its annual opera festival and opera performances featuring such great classics as La Traviata or Aida.

For film lovers, there is also an international film festival for love films. Famous wines such as Valpolicella arguably make your stay even more enjoyable.

During the day, you can buy fresh fruit and vegetables in the historic Piazza delle Erbe, or simply enjoy the medieval architecture - the old houses with their balconies are typical of the city. Even more medieval flair can be found in the famous Castelvecchio, a medieval fortress. From the piazza it’s also only a few minutes to Castel San Pietro. This castle is situated on a picturesque hill between cypresses and offers a great view. More beautiful views can be enjoyed from Torre dei Lamberti, at 84 metres the city's tallest medieval tower.

The best place to go shopping is Via Mazzini, before romance takes over once more: Romeo and Juliet were married in the crypt of the Basilica of San Zeno. And if you need a bit of fresh air after so much romance, just travel to nearby Lake Garda...

The balcony of Juliet in the heart of Verona

The balcony of Juliet in the heart of Verona

Verona Arena

Verona

Auf Shakespeares Spuren in Verona

Paris kann einpacken, jetzt geht’s nach Verona. Im warmen Licht des Südens lassen sich auf Romeo & Julias Spuren romantische Plätze, bezaubernde Innenhöfe und mittelalterliche Sehenswürdigkeiten erkunden. Sparen Sie sich den Stress am Flughafen, Romantik gibt’s nicht nur in Paris. Eine entspannte Nacht im Nightjet bringt Sie von Wien, Salzburg oder München direkt nach Verona.

Tipp: Mit den ÖBB erhalten Sie 20% Ticket-Ermäßigung bei CitySightseeing in vielen Städten in Italien.
Informationen unter oebb.at/citysightseeing.

Keine Verbindungen gefunden. Bitte versuchen Sie ein anders Abfahrtsland.

* Ab-Preis für ein ÖBB-Sparschiene-Ticket pro Person und Richtung im Sitzwagen 2. Klasse inkl. Sitzplatzreservierung, kontingentiertes und zuggebundenes Angebot, max. 6 Monate (180 Tage) vor Fahrtantritt buchbar. Liege- bzw. Bettplatz sowie Auto- und Motorradtransport (sofern verfügbar) sind aufpreispflichtig. Keine Ermäßigungen. Umtausch, Stornierung und Erstattung ausgeschlossen. Es gelten die Tarifbestimmungen der ÖBB-Personenverkehr AG. Tickets und Informationen erhältlich auf nightjet.com, bei ÖBB Vertriebspartnern, jedem ÖBB Ticketschalter oder beim ÖBB Kundenservice 0043 5 1717.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Es ist die richtige Destination für alle Frischverliebten oder solche, die es noch werden wollen. Spätestens seit Shakespeare sind in der norditalienischen Stadt die ganz großen Gefühle zu Hause. Ob in der Casa di Giulietta, in dem Paare, beobachtet von der Bronzefigur der Julia im Hof, gerne ihre Namen an die Wand schreiben. Oder in der Arena di Verona, in dem jedes Jahr ein Opernfestival stattfindet und Opern wie La Traviata oder Aida aufgeführt werden.

Außerdem gibt es ein internationales Filmfestival für Liebesfilme. Berühmte Weine wie der Valpolicella tun wohl ihr Übriges.

Tagsüber lassen sich auf der historischen Piazza delle Erbe frisches Obst und Gemüse einkaufen, oder man genießt einfach die mittelalterliche Architektur - die alten Häuser mit ihren Balkonen sind typisch für die Stadt. Noch mehr Mittelalter-Flair gibt es im berühmten Castelvecchio, einer mittelalterlichen Festung. Von der Piazza wären es aber auch nur wenige Minuten zum Castel San Pietro. Die Burg liegt auf einem malerischen Hügel zwischen Zypressen und bietet eine tolle Aussicht. Eine schöne Fernsicht gibt es auch vom Torre dei Lamberti, dem mit 84 Metern höchsten mittelalterlichen Turm der Stadt.

Shoppen geht man am besten in der Via Mazzini, bevor es noch einmal richtig romantisch wird: In der Krypta der Basilica di San Zeno gaben Romeo und Julia sich das Ja-Wort. Und wer nach so viel Romantik ein bisschen frischen Wind braucht, reist einfach zum nahegelegenen Gardasee weiter...

Verona Julia´s Balkon

Der Balkon von Julia im Herzen Veronas