Bologna Stadtblick

Bologna

Luxury cars and student life

La Dotta, the scholar, is this northern Italian city’s nickname. After all, in the lively student city of Bologna one can find the probably oldest university in the western world. Lots of luxury cars too, by the way. Our Nightjet trains take you to Bologna in an environmentally friendly and stress-free way: From Vienna or Salzburg, you can get there in just one night.

No connections found. Please try another departure country.

* Minimum price for an ÖBB Sparschiene ticket per person and direction, in a second class seating carriage, incl. seat reservation, offer only valid for a certain train and subject to ticket allotment, can be booked max. 6 months (180 days) before departure. For couchette or sleeper car tickets as well as car and motorcycle transport (if available), a surcharge applies. No discounts. Tickets cannot be exchanged, cancelled or refunded. The ÖBB Personenverkehr AG's terms and conditions apply. Tickets and information are available at nightjet.com, from ÖBB sales partners, at any ÖBB ticket counter and from the ÖBB customer service at 0043 5 1717.

Attractions

Car enthusiasts will get their money's worth, as there are numerous museums in and around Bologna where you can find vehicles from Ducati, Maserati, Lamborghini or Ferrari. The labyrinthine old town with its endless arcades - stretching 40 kilometres in total - dates back to the time of the Renaissance rulers.

Protected from the wind and the weather, this is where you will find boutiques, grocery stores and bookshops, which mainly owe their existence to Bologna’s numerous students. The heart of the city is formed by the Basilica di San Petronio, the fifth largest Gothic church in the world, and the Fountain of Neptune. The trident of the god of the sea may look familiar to you - it forms the Maserati logo.

If you want to see leaning towers, you don't have to travel to Pisa. Bologna has some of those too. In the Middle Ages, there were countless (residential) towers in the city, and seventeen have survived - albeit somewhat warped, such as the Garisenda or the Asinelli Tower, whose viewing platform can be reached by way of 500 steps. From there you cannot only enjoy a magnificent view of the city, but also see the dolce vita on the piazza below.

Bologna city view

The leaning towers of Bologna, Garisenda and Asinelli

Bologna Stadtblick

Bologna

Luxusautos und Studentenleben

La Dotta, die Gelehrte, so wird die Stadt in Norditalien auch genannt. Immerhin ist in der lebendigen Studentenstadt Bologna die wohl älteste Universität der westlichen Welt zu finden. Jede Menge Luxusautos übrigens auch. Umweltfreundlich und stressfrei reist man mit dem Nightjet nach Bologna: Von Wien oder Salzburg aus ist man über Nacht da.

Keine Verbindungen gefunden. Bitte versuchen Sie ein anders Abfahrtsland.

* Ab-Preis für ein ÖBB-Sparschiene-Ticket pro Person und Richtung im Sitzwagen 2. Klasse inkl. Sitzplatzreservierung, kontingentiertes und zuggebundenes Angebot, max. 6 Monate (180 Tage) vor Fahrtantritt buchbar. Liege- bzw. Bettplatz sowie Auto- und Motorradtransport (sofern verfügbar) sind aufpreispflichtig. Keine Ermäßigungen. Umtausch, Stornierung und Erstattung ausgeschlossen. Es gelten die Tarifbestimmungen der ÖBB-Personenverkehr AG. Tickets und Informationen erhältlich auf nightjet.com, bei ÖBB Vertriebspartnern, jedem ÖBB Ticketschalter oder beim ÖBB Kundenservice 0043 5 1717.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Autofans kommen hier voll auf ihre Kosten, denn in und rund um Bologna gibt es zahlreiche Museen, in denen man Fahrzeuge von Ducati, Maserati, Lamborghini oder Ferrari findet. Die labyrinthische Altstadt mit ihren endlosen Arkaden, 40 Kilometer sind es insgesamt, geht auf die Zeit der Renaissancefürsten zurück.

Vor Wind und Wetter geschützt findet man hier Boutiquen, Lebensmittelläden und Buchhandlungen, die vor allem von den zahlreichen StudentInnen in Bologna profitieren. Das Herz der Stadt bilden die Basilica di San Petronio, die fünftgrößte gotische Kirche der Welt, und der Neptunsbrunnen. Der Dreizack des Gottes des Meeres kommt einem vielleicht irgendwie bekannt vor - er bildet das Logo von Maserati.

Wer schiefe Türme sehen möchte, muss nicht erst nach Pisa reisen. Die gibt es nämlich auch in Bologna. Im Mittelalter gab es unzählige (Wohn-)Türme in der Stadt, erhalten haben sich siebzehn - wenn auch etwas windschief wie zum Beispiel der Garisenda oder der Asinelli Turm, dessen Aussichtsplattform man über 500 Stufen erreicht. Von hier aus bietet sich nicht nur ein herrlicher Ausblick über die Stadt, auch das dolce vita auf der Piazza unterhalb lässt sich bestens beobachten.

Bologna Türme

Die schiefen Türme von Bologna, Garisenda und Asinelli