München Marienplatz Dämmerung

Munich

Heartiness and chic in the south of Germany

One of the largest city parks in the world, a beer garden next to a Chinese Tower and important art collections. Munich makes it possible. Many roads lead to Munich. Particularly conveniently one a train. Our Nightjet will take you from Hamburg, Düsseldorf, Rome, Milan, Venice, Budapest, Zagreb and Rijeka to the Bavarian capital.

No connections found. Please try another departure country.

For short connections (for example Hannover - Hamburg, Dusseldorf - Cologne or Bonn, Passau - Regensburg) there are particularly cheap Sparschiene deals up from 9.- Euro*.

* Minimum price for an ÖBB Sparschiene ticket per person and direction, in a second class seating carriage, incl. seat reservation, offer only valid for a certain train and subject to ticket allotment, can be booked max. 6 months (180 days) before departure. For couchette or sleeper car tickets as well as car and motorcycle transport (if available), a surcharge applies. No discounts. Tickets cannot be exchanged, cancelled or refunded. The ÖBB Personenverkehr AG's terms and conditions apply. Tickets and information are available at nightjet.com, from ÖBB sales partners, at any ÖBB ticket counter and from the ÖBB customer service at 0043 5 1717.

Attractions

The heart of Munich is Marienplatz, a place for monks many centuries ago, from which the city also draws its name. Here you will find the New Town Hall with its famous bells and clock figures that can teach you a lot about the history of the city.

For example that the Schäffler, barrel makers, were the first ones that dared to return to the streets to dance following a severe plague epidemic. One place where you should definitely dare to set foot on the street is Hackenviertel. You will enter Europe’s largest pedestrian precinct through the Karlstor and leave it with well-filled shopping bags.

At 200 year old Viktualienmarkt you can purchase regional and exotic delicacies while Italian treats can be found next door in Schrannenhalle. For the inevitable veal sausage and pretzels, however, the best place to go is the beer garden at the Chinese Tower. It is conveniently located in the centre of another Munich landmark: the English Garden is one of the largest urban parks in the world. If one has survived surfing on the standing wave in the Eisbach River, one should visit yet another landmark, the late-Gothic Church of Our Lady with its onion towers. Of course, art lovers should not ignore the art galleries either. And maybe you will stop by the Botanical Gardens on your way back to the train station and dream of your next Munich visit on the Nightjet.

Munich "Glockenspiel am Rathaus"

The New Town Hall with its famous bells and clock figures

München Marienplatz Dämmerung

München

Zünftig und schick im Süden Deutschlands

Einer der größten Stadtparks der Welt, ein Biergarten neben einem Chinaturm und bedeutende Kunstsammlungen. München macht’s möglich. Viele Wege führen nach München. Besonders bequem über die Schiene. Der Nightjet bringt Sie von Hamburg, Düsseldorf, Rom, Mailand, Venedig, Budapest, Zagreb und Rijeka in die bayrische Hauptstadt.

Keine Verbindungen gefunden. Bitte versuchen Sie ein anders Abfahrtsland.

Für Kurzstrecken (z.B. Hannover - Hamburg, Düsseldorf - Köln oder Bonn, Passau - Regensburg) gibt es besonders günstige Sparschiene-Angebote ab 9,- Euro*.

* Ab-Preis für ein ÖBB-Sparschiene-Ticket pro Person und Richtung im Sitzwagen 2. Klasse inkl. Sitzplatzreservierung, kontingentiertes und zuggebundenes Angebot, max. 6 Monate (180 Tage) vor Fahrtantritt buchbar. Liege- bzw. Bettplatz sowie Auto- und Motorradtransport (sofern verfügbar) sind aufpreispflichtig. Keine Ermäßigungen. Umtausch, Stornierung und Erstattung ausgeschlossen. Es gelten die Tarifbestimmungen der ÖBB-Personenverkehr AG. Tickets und Informationen erhältlich auf nightjet.com, bei ÖBB Vertriebspartnern, jedem ÖBB Ticketschalter oder beim ÖBB Kundenservice 0043 5 1717.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Das Herz Münchens bildet der Marienplatz, vor vielen Jahrhunderten eine Stätte der Mönche, von denen die Stadt auch ihren Namen hat. Hier findet man das Neue Rathaus mit dem berühmten Glocken- und Figurenspiel, bei dem man so einiges über die Geschichte der Stadt lernen kann.

Wie zum Beispiel, dass die Schäffler, die Fassmacher, die ersten nach einer schweren Pestepidemie waren, die sich wieder auf die Straßen trauten, um zu tanzen. Auf die Straße trauen kann man sich auch im Hackenviertel. Die größte Fußgängerzone Europas betritt man durch das Karlstor und verlässt sie mit gut gefüllten Einkaufstaschen.

Am über 200 Jahre alten Viktualienmarkt gibt es regionale und exotische Delikatessen, italienische Feinkost ist nebenan in der Schrannenhalle zu finden. Für die unumgängliche Weißwurst und Brezen geht man aber am besten in den Biergarten am Chinaturm. Der liegt praktischerweise inmitten in einer weiteren Sehenswürdigkeit Münchens: der Englische Garten ist einer der größten innerstädtischen Parks weltweit. Hat man das Surfen auf der stehenden Welle im Eisbach gut überstanden, besucht man nun noch ein weiteres Wahrzeichen, die spätgotische Frauenkirche mit ihren Zwiebeltürmen. Aber auch die Pinakotheken sollten Kunstliebhaber natürlich nicht links liegen lassen. Und vielleicht schauen Sie am Rückweg zum Bahnhof noch im Botanischen Garten vorbei und träumen im Nightjet dann vom nächsten München-Besuch.

München Glockenspiel am Rathaus

Das berühmte Glocken- und Figurenspiel am Neuen Rathaus