Frankfurt Mainhatten

Frankfurt

Visit Mainhattan

Don’t listen to the stereotypes. Frankfurt is a rewarding destination - and not just for ambitious bankers. In addition to its unique skyline, there are many historical sites and more museums to explore than you would expect. From Vienna and Innsbruck, our Nightjet will take you directly to the cosmopolitan city with its medieval roots and international flair.

No connections found. Please try another departure country.

For short connections (for example Hannover - Hamburg, Dusseldorf - Cologne or Bonn, Passau - Regensburg) there are particularly cheap Sparschiene deals up from 9.- Euro*.

* Minimum price for an ÖBB Sparschiene ticket per person and direction, in a second class seating carriage, incl. seat reservation, offer only valid for a certain train and subject to ticket allotment, can be booked max. 6 months (180 days) before departure. For couchette or sleeper car tickets as well as car and motorcycle transport (if available), a surcharge applies. No discounts. Tickets cannot be exchanged, cancelled or refunded. The ÖBB Personenverkehr AG's terms and conditions apply. Tickets and information are available at nightjet.com, from ÖBB sales partners, at any ÖBB ticket counter and from the ÖBB customer service at 0043 5 1717.

Attractions

Frankfurt is known for its skyline and the highest skyscrapers in Europe. To get a first idea of the city, it is best to visit one of them: From the viewing platform of the fully glazed Main Tower 187 metres above ground, you can enjoy the view and even enjoy a meal.

Afterwards, you may want to head to the historic heart of the city, Römerberg and its striking town hall called Römer. Since 1543, the Fountain of Justice, the Old St. Nicholas Church and the Imperial Cathedral of St. Bartholomew have also been on display here.

Even if, according to an old anecdote, real Frankfurt residents are not interested in this: the Goethe House and the Goethe Museum are two attractions you shouldn’t miss. After that, you should continue to the Museumsufer. On both sides of the Main River bank, you will find exhibitions ranging from painting and architecture to film. From the Middle Ages to the present day, the Städel Museum unites 700 years of art under one roof. In order to digest this much culture, you can now visit the Old Sachsenhausen district, where winding alleyways and numerous traditional apple cider bars will enchant you. Here you can take a break with a glass of Frankfurt’s signature drink known as the Ebbelwoi. Or you can stroll through the idyllic Höchster Altstadt with its palace complex and palace or marvel at the fascinating variety of plants in the Palmengarten - all of that is possible in Mainhattan.

Frankfurt Römerberg

The Römerberg with Justitia monument

Frankfurt Mainhatten

Frankfurt

Ein Besuch in Mainhattan

Weg mit den Vorurteilen. Nicht nur für ambitionierte Banker ist Frankfurt eine vielversprechende Destination. Neben der einzigartigen Skyline gibt es hier viel Historisches und mehr Museen als gedacht zu entdecken. Von Wien und Innsbruck geht es mit dem Nightjet direkt in die Weltstadt mit mittelalterlichen Wurzeln und internationalem Flair.

Keine Verbindungen gefunden. Bitte versuchen Sie ein anders Abfahrtsland.

Für Kurzstrecken (z.B. Hannover - Hamburg, Düsseldorf - Köln oder Bonn, Passau - Regensburg) gibt es besonders günstige Sparschiene-Angebote ab 9,- Euro*.

* Ab-Preis für ein ÖBB-Sparschiene-Ticket pro Person und Richtung im Sitzwagen 2. Klasse inkl. Sitzplatzreservierung, kontingentiertes und zuggebundenes Angebot, max. 6 Monate (180 Tage) vor Fahrtantritt buchbar. Liege- bzw. Bettplatz sowie Auto- und Motorradtransport (sofern verfügbar) sind aufpreispflichtig. Keine Ermäßigungen. Umtausch, Stornierung und Erstattung ausgeschlossen. Es gelten die Tarifbestimmungen der ÖBB-Personenverkehr AG. Tickets und Informationen erhältlich auf nightjet.com, bei ÖBB Vertriebspartnern, jedem ÖBB Ticketschalter oder beim ÖBB Kundenservice 0043 5 1717.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Frankfurt ist bekannt für seine Skyline mit den höchsten Wolkenkratzern Europas. Um sich einen ersten Überblick zu verschaffen, besucht man am besten gleich einen davon: Von der Aussichtsplattform des vollverglasten Main Towers genießt man den Ausblick, in 187 Metern Höhe kann man hier auch essen.

Danach geht’s zum historischen Herzen der Stadt, dem Römerberg mit seinem markanten Rathaus, dem Römer. Hier gibt es seit 1543 auch den Gerechtigkeitsbrunnen zu sehen, die Alte Nikolaikirche und den Kaiserdom St. Bartholomäus.

Auch wenn sich echte FrankfurterInnen laut einer alten Anekdote nicht dafür interessieren - schließlich sind Sie ja zu Besuch und sollten sich das Goethe-Haus und das Goethe-Museum nicht entgehen lassen. Dann geht es weiter zum Museumsufer. Auf beiden Seiten des Mainufers findet man Ausstellungen von Malerei über Architektur bis zu Film. Im Städel Museum vereinen sich vom Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart gleich 700 Jahre Kunst unter einem Dach. Um so viel Kultur zu verdauen, kann man nun den Stadtteil Alt-Sachsenhausen besuchen, wo es verwinkelte Gässchen und zahlreiche traditionelle Apfelweinlokale gibt. Hier pausiert man bei einem Gläschen des Frankfurter Nationalgetränks, dem Ebbelwoi. Oder man spaziert durch die idyllische Höchster Altstadt mitsamt Schlossanlage und Palast oder bestaunt im Palmengarten die faszinierende Vielfalt der Pflanzenwelt - auch das geht in Mainhattan.

Frankfurt Römerberg

Der Römerberg mit der Statue der Justitia